Notices
04-06 Ralliart Engine/Drivetrain (no forced induction)

05 lancer ralliart transmission problems

Old May 2, 2015, 04:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
05 lancer ralliart transmission problems

I have a 2005 mitsubishi lancer ralliart 2.4l. I bought it at a dealer used at 128k miles. 6 months later(10k miles later) , I know have transmission problems.. 75% sure its the input shaft bearing, 25% possibly a throwout bearing. It's making the metal tapping sound most noticeable in 1st 2nd and 3rd, and gets louder with acceleration. sound goes away with the clutch is disengaged, sound comes back when in neutral or any gear with the clutch engaged..

Now few questions..

Doesn't a throwout bearing sound more like a squeal? and it is most likely my input shaft bearing?

sadly im outside of the powertrain warranty. I do work at the old crappy National Tire and Battery, so I could use a lift and a day off to get this back in order, but I've never done anything with transmissions before, I've always just done brakes, suspension, radiators, wheel bearings etc... is this simple enough to do possibly for myself? or should I take this baby somewhere? and should it be a mitsu dealer or a specialized tranny shop?

Sadly I do still only make like 9.50/hr and crazy labor bills would rape me and I've got a baby on the way etc. and trying to find a new place to live.. thankfully i'll be a piddly 16% comm mechanic in august and thatll help money wise a little, but i would think this should be dealt with very soon? what should be my next step?
I'm semi lost at what to do .. any help or advice would be very much appreciated
Old May 4, 2015, 06:28 AM
Evolved Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Hello, welcome to the forum.
The input shaft bearing doesn't last long on these cars. Change the seal too, and since you're dropping the gearbox you could as well change the clutch and throw out bearing etc.
Search the forum since others have posted their experiences with this issue.