Notices

Fuel Tank Removal / Fuel Issues

Old Feb 17, 2017, 10:57 AM
Evolving Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Fuel Tank Removal / Fuel Issues

How involved is it to drop the fuel tank? Would I be able to drop the fuel tank in my driveway/garage?

I'm no mechanic but I've done the timing belt, water pump, replaced radiator/fans, swapped intake manifold, removed cylinder head and replaced valves/springs/retainers and put it all back together myself. I'm hoping the fuel tank isn't more involved than that.

I can't find any information on that process. Any tips/tricks/gotchas? Would it be similar to removing the fuel tank on a base lancer or an EVO? Maybe I can search over there? I don't want to go in blind.

Issue: On a cold startup, car idles/runs great. On a warm startup, the car has trouble idling and shuts off. If I give it gas and try to drive, it feels like it's bogging and I have to rev it a few times to get it going. It takes me like 2 minutes of driving to get it back to normal idle/not bogging.

SOLVED ISSUE: I wanted to update this in case anyone ever came across this issue I had. I bought a new EGR valve and that fixed my issue.

Last edited by Tw3NTy0n3; May 8, 2017 at 11:07 PM. Reason: Issue resolved
Old Feb 17, 2017, 11:30 AM

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
You're no mechanic but you have been able to do all those other things?
Sounds to me like you won't struggle.

https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/ev...k-removal.html

Have a read of that will give you an idea.
It's a big job.
Old Feb 17, 2017, 08:57 PM
Evolving Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Thanks for that info!

I wouldn't say I need to remove it completely, just enough to replace that fuel pressure differential sensor.

It looks pretty involved from that link you pasted but I just realized that's in the EVO forums. I wonder if it's the same for the Ralliart.