Notices
AEM EMS Get tuning help for your AEM EMS system.

EMS: Beginners guide on how to get running.

Old Mar 15, 2006, 02:47 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EMS: Beginners guide on how to get running.

First of all, the disclaimer: I am not a certified tuner and I am just a beginner but I'd like to share what I have learned with a bit of trial and error. Follow these procedures at your own risk.

This is a how to for conversion to speed density on EMS v1.19. My car is near stock with nothing that would cause obvious problems with the base calibration. No fuel injectors, Cams, or cam gears (cam gears require syncing of timing)

Installation:

Follow the instructions on this link.
http://forum.aempower.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=6696

To allow for automapping install your wideband o2 wiring in to the o2#1 pin #76. I am using a zeitronix unit and have had very accurate results between the EMS and the LCD on the zeitronix (more on this later).

Setup:

Once everything is installed, plug lap top in to EMS and start EMS software. Hit connect, then turn key to the ON position. Upload the 1313 MAP.V1.19.cal file.

When this is completed there will be some immediate things that need to be fixed.

First calibrate the throttle position sensor. You will find this in configure. Follow on screen instructions.

Second, under setup choose the coolant temperature sensor wizard, and then select Mitsubishi (All). This is NOT set up correctly in the base calibration and caused me hours of headache.

Third, open the o2 sensor #1 calibration table and input the values that correspond to voltage from the documentation of your wideband o2. This is important to have accurate o2 readings. Now set the gain to 0. If the voltage/reading tables are accurate then there will be no need to use gain. If they are off you may use the gain setting to adjust the values untill they correspond both in the EMS and the wideband gauge.