Notices
E85 / Ethanol This section is dedicated to tuning with ethanol.

First time tuning E85 and ECUFlash. Logs & Graphs inside

Search this Thread

Old Oct 13, 2015, 07:53 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time tuning E85 and ECUFlash. Logs & Graphs inside

So this is my first time ever using E85. Using a Tephramod v7 rom. Idle seems really choppy compared to how the car ran on the stock rom using E85 but I'm sure there is something within the Tephra rom that needs changing.
My friend is helping with the tuning. He has tuned quite a few DSMs in the past including one of his last first gen DSM's with a Precision 6262 to 565whp on a Mustang dyno. We are both learning a bunch every day using Ecuflash.
Tonight we actually started doing some third gear logs in my car since the LTFT's are dialed in pretty well.
We haven't even touched timing tables yet. We did a good amount of work to the high octane fuel table and got the a/f's pretty smooth but before we could finish up, one of my heater hoses burst at the end of the pull shooting coolant on my windshield so we were done for the night.

Timing advance is negative in the majority of the pull. I can't wait to start adding timing and seeing the gains. Virtual Dyno estimates 305whp/312 ft-lbs torque in Mustang dyno format with all the correct values put in as of right now. I'm not sure how accurate that is, but it feels about right. Boost spikes around 28-29 psi and slowly falls off throughout the powerband to around 24-25 psi.

One weird thing I notice in all my logs that puzzles us both is that my 1byte load goes up to 288 at 3600rpm and then out of nowhere drops to 1.2 until 4900rpm, and then shoots back up to 304 and then drops off slightly throughout the pull. The slight drop off through the power band seems normal considering it is a stock Evo 8.5 turbo, but why the sudden drop off at 3600? Is there a reason that would happen? It's pretty concerning.