Notices

Questions/thoughts on boost solenoids

Search this Thread

Old Jul 26, 2016, 12:44 PM
Evolved Member

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Questions/thoughts on boost solenoids

Very new owner of a 2012 MR. I'm new to this setup of two solenoids, but I'm quite used to tune earlier generations of Evos, 3 ports, etc.
Correct me if I'm wrong, IMO it would be easier to max out the passive solenoid duty, lower the reactive solenoid duty very low and start building a boost curve only on the reactive solenoid (which is now at full flow capacity).

For information purpose only, not testing, what is the max boost achieved on stock turbo, both solenoid maxed out ?

By the way, why there is two ? I understand the passive solenoid is like an offset/adder to the bleed air flow, but the stock boost pill (or the reactive solenoid) could just have been bigger, thus eliminating the need for the passive solenoid...

Thanks!

Last edited by domyz; Jul 26, 2016 at 03:10 PM.
Old Jul 27, 2016, 02:07 AM
EvoM Guru

Received 66 Likes on 42 Posts
step 1. remove stock solenoids and vacuum hoses
step 2. install 3port with new vacuum line
step 3. tune active wgdc (starting at 40% and working up), zero out passive, and enable P0247 fix
step 4. profit
step 5. send profits to me :P

tldr: 3port it
Old Jul 27, 2016, 02:09 AM
EvoM Guru

in answer to your other questions..

you can easily run 25 tapering to 18 on stock turbo... with a 3port, or modified pill setup..
Old Jul 27, 2016, 04:02 AM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by tephra
in answer to your other questions..

you can easily run 25 tapering to 18 on stock turbo... with a 3port, or modified pill setup..
Thanks tephra

Last edited by domyz; Jul 27, 2016 at 09:55 AM.
Old Jul 27, 2016, 09:53 AM
Evolved Member