Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Quieter evo? dynamat? ur thoughts?

Old Jul 29, 2009, 08:48 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Quieter evo? dynamat? ur thoughts?

i was reading some import magazine i got a free subscription too when i went to hot import nights and they were talking about stripping the interior of the car and covering it in dynamat, they actually did it on this man's car and said it made a huge difference, what you guys think? i know its an evo and suppose to be loud but when i drove down to miami for 3 and half hours if the car was quiter it would of helped out alot, they dynamat the entire interior and truck and it only added about 60 pounds to the car, anyone on here tried this and know if it really works? cause dynamat is not cheap
Old Jul 29, 2009, 08:53 AM
Evolving Member

It works. Pain to do it.
Old Jul 29, 2009, 09:22 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
don't buy dynamat - there are cheaper alternatives.

also another way to quiet down the noise is a quieter exhaust system!! i have two resonators on mine
Old Jul 29, 2009, 09:35 AM
Evolving Member

4 big categories of noise

Engine noise (not very heavy firewall shield)
Wind noise (sealing around windows, open hood vents)
Road noise (wide high performance tires, harmonic resonances)
Exhaust noise (aftermarket makes more noise)

Damping material (ie. Dynamat, B-Quiet) will only subdue the road noise portion by reducing the resonant frequency of larger panels but you still have a few other offenders.

I was toying with the ideal of a sound barrier like some carpet underpadding. That should help with the exhaust noise part.
Old Jul 29, 2009, 09:41 AM
Evolved Member