Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Question re:Methanol/Water Injection, HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1, 2014, 12:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Question re:Methanol/Water Injection, HELP!!

So I ran across a guy who I might be buying his Evo from and he is running I guess an ALKI Control Injection kit. problem is, I'm a little over my head in regards to this stuff. I am a mechanic, so I get the general gist of how it works and it's intended purpose, but I'm a noob. Since he has this setup in his Evo, would I HAVE to be limited to using it? Can I just drive it without using a Meth/Water mix? Or do I HAVE to use it if it's installed? I'm not really looking for such huge hp gains or anything. I just want an Evo back in my stable as I gave up a nightmare purchase a while back. I've been searching for hours for an answer and I can't find anything re: this on here or other sites. Couldn't I just run a regular high octane 93 pump gas and eliminate the use of the kit, or would I have to remove it completely? Anyone?
Old Aug 1, 2014, 01:16 AM
Evolved Member

Received 41 Likes on 37 Posts
I would think that the car would be tuned with the water meth kit. So if you're planning on driving the car aggressively in its current state, then no you cannot simply remove the system. Otherwise you can use it as much as you want until it runs out.

Usually a water/meth set up will inject the water/meth mixture after a preset PSI (lets say 10psi). After 10psi the mixture will be injected into the intake tract and you can take advange of its benifits...its essentially giving you more octane. So the timing in the ecu is going to be more aggressive to take advantage of the "higher octane". If you take the meth away, you run the risk of knock which could lead to a blown motor.
Old Aug 1, 2014, 06:01 AM