Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Timing belt install questions

Search this Thread

Old Mar 30, 2016, 10:04 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Timing belt install questions

First of all this is my first time doing such a thing, and I have searched and searched (I guess not enough). I removed my head to do a new head gasket and installed head studs the proper way. Since I was already down there I decided to do new timing belt and new components just to be on the safe side.

I am to the point where I just need to install the timing belt. I understand you need to line up everything (crank shaft, oil pump sprocket, intake and exhaust cam, balance shaft sprocket).

My first attempt tonight didn't go so well. I had everything lined up, cams locked into place with the cam lock, crank shaft at its mark, oil pump sprocket at its mark, then I added manual tension to the belt tensioner pulley, held it and tighted the pulley bolt. I wasn't able to get the correct torque of 36 ft pounds on the bolt but got it tightened. Pulled the grenade pin out, rotated counter clock wise at least 10 times. Checked the marks and what do you know..... exhaust side is advanced 1 teeth forward. I don't understand...... a bit confused here. Before I added tension to the belt everything was properly lined up and now the exhaust side is 1 tooth off even with the Jay racing cam lock tool.....

I started off the belt installation from the exhaust cam working my way down to the oil pump sprocket, then crank sprocket, to the tensioner pulley then the intake cam.

As for the balance shaft belt, I believe I did it right as I followed the manual and used a belt deflection tool with a gates one.