Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Do I need to upgraded fuel pump for a dyno tune?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 8, 2016, 02:32 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Evo 9 tuning question

Hi I'm getting a dyno tune soon and it's my first time to do a dyno tune on my evo 9, just wondering what I need to prepare before a tune? I know I'll have to make sure all fluid are on level and clean but I'm not sure if I need to urgraded my fuel pump before tuning? If so which fuel pump is the best for evo9? I'm still running stock ecu and stock turbo.

Last edited by eddy5201314; Dec 28, 2016 at 06:01 AM.
Old Dec 8, 2016, 04:43 AM
Evolved Member

Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
it really depends on what your mods are. if you have no mods and just tuning, the stocker should be fine. but, a upgraded fuel pump is a cheap extra security especially if you are trying to boost more. more boost=more fuel you need. i think you should. plus it takes only about an hour to do.
Old Dec 8, 2016, 06:57 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
What mods do you have?
Old Dec 8, 2016, 07:09 AM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1,384 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Before a tune, I would recommend the following mods

255 Walbro
Full 3" exhaust w/DP (no CAT or high flow CAT)
Open air intake or mesh (K&N filter)
1000cc injectors
3 port boost solenoid
Tephra ECU program supplied by tuner

Start w/the above, then tune
Old Dec 8, 2016, 12:41 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
if bone stock, no need
Old Dec 8, 2016, 12:45 PM
EvoM Community Team Leader

Received 704 Likes on 592 Posts
Originally Posted by MinusPrevious

255 Walbro
1000cc injectors
3 port boost solenoid