Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

I have no idea what's wrong with my car..

Search this Thread

Old Feb 22, 2017, 06:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have no idea what's wrong with my car..

Hey guys, so I'm pretty new to cars and I recently bought an 05 SSL evo 8 with 82k miles, I'm not entirely sure what mods it has besides 272 cams, new gasket set and pistons (not sure what brand) GReddy BOV type Rs (which isn't blowing off.. if that makes sense) it used to have a Buschur downpipe not sure what kinda catback but they were removed because of damage to the downpipe. So open downpipe as of now, rear o2 removed. Evo 9 turbo (02 dump?) Bc coilovers. Mishimoto radiator (small one) just recently installed BPR8ES spark plugs at .026 gap. Alright so I'm having really big issues with the car, it backfires loud af whenever I try to give it gas. I have to be at around 3500rpm to get it to start rolling in 1st. Smelling a gas leak(?) behind the engine bay. Once driving it continues to backfire and has trouble picking up speed and rpm's past 2300rpm. I took it to a mechanic and I feel like he didn't do **** it's actually running worse than when I got it. He tells me I just need 02 fixed (but he removed it) new ECU and tune and a bigger turbo kit because It's holding back because of the cams and internals with the stock ecu? It had a tuned ecu before I got it but was replaced with the stock one when sold to me. Had a AEM boost solenoid but it cracked and the stock one was reconnected. Idk what to do help!!! Sorry if I messed anything up with this post but would appreciate any help!
Old Feb 22, 2017, 07:38 PM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1,384 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Based on your notes, this EvO desperately needs a good EvO shop