Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Brakes don't bite hard

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14, 2023, 10:58 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Brakes don't bite hard

Some other Evo owners drove my car (03 USDM Evo 8) and said my brake pedal feel isn't at-par w/ how Evo brembos should feel. At the track, I needed to use engine braking to stop in time for corners. Honestly, I thought this was normal (I was an inexperienced track driver and I am still a noob into Evo ownership) until other people (my mechanic, my tuner, both well-versed in Evos) drove my car and remarked weak braking feel. I tried emergency braking one time in an empty lot and I felt some vibration towards the end of the braking distance which leads me to think that the ABS is working properly.

Others:
Rotors and pads (both Dixcel) installed early 2021 but car was barely used (<1500 miles) as it went through a whole restojob
No ABS indicators on dash
Brembo calipers repainted to blue around 1 yr ago (during the restojob)
Brakes have been manually bled multiple times, no improvement

We're thinking the problem is the Hydrovac (aka Brake Booster) and/or the Brake master cylinder. I have trouble finding Evo-specific parts for these. Has anybody used the ones from the regular Lancer? Or from other cars?
Old Mar 14, 2023, 02:52 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 382 Likes on 327 Posts
I got mine biting aggressively with Valvoline fluid and Hawk StreetRace 5.0 pads. i lost it when I changed to Castrol SRF, so I'm about to try Motul 600. If that doesnt work I'll have to try something else or go back to Valvoline
Old Mar 15, 2023, 04:59 PM
Evolved Member

Received 233 Likes on 209 Posts
what is a hydrovac
Old Mar 15, 2023, 05:23 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 382 Likes on 327 Posts
Originally Posted by kyoo
what is a hydrovac
thats brake booster. not sure why its called that back in the islands
Old May 9, 2023, 10:13 PM