Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

Where does the oil go???

Search this Thread

Old Jul 27, 2015, 09:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where does the oil go???

So first off I am new to the Evo world. I did an oil change with Royal Purple 5w-30. I have never run it before in any of my other vehicles but it seems to be popular choice so I figured I would give it a try. After about 2000 miles I had to add 3/4 of a quart. Is this normal for the 4B11 or Royal Purple?

I normally run Lubro-Moly 5w-40 in my other vehicles and do not have a problem.

Very light mods. But has 100k on the clock. No check engine lights, rough/irregular idle, and no smoke. Maybe loss of oil due to mileage?

I will be giving the Lubro a shot next oil change to see if there is a difference but thought I would ask on here and get some other opinions.

Thanks.
Old Jul 27, 2015, 09:59 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 1,543 Likes on 1,322 Posts
Thats not bad for oil consumption. My car is a full quarts every 1500-2000 miles depending on how I drive it.
Old Jul 28, 2015, 12:56 PM
Evolved Member

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts
hmm yea I always had that problem with royal purple. I used to run in my S2K seemed to burn off pretty quick I guess. I haven't run it in the evo because royal purple is really synthetic and I like to run synthetic in the evo. Plus I think royal purple was just a waste of money.
Old Jul 28, 2015, 01:36 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 51 Likes on 44 Posts
I wouldn't use Royal Purple.. they tend to run thin. they're more for the make max power and rebuild the engine every year or so crowd than the I don't like to rebuild my engine crowd.
Old Jul 28, 2015, 06:17 PM

Originally Posted by letsgetthisdone
Thats not bad for oil consumption. My car is a full quarts every 1500-2000 miles depending on how I drive it.
Phew! I was a little worried.

Originally Posted by hoobastnk90