Notices
Evo X Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

2015 Evolution x steering wheel vibration.... HELP PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old May 4, 2016, 07:51 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2015 Evolution x steering wheel vibration.... HELP PLEASE

Dear all,

This is my first time posting in the forums.
I have a 2015 Evo x, 5000 babied miles on it and the steering wheel is shaking above 60 mph. I have been to three balancing shops including the Mitsubishi dealer and have spent nearly $200 dollars re-balancing the wheels. The shaking has not stopped or changed. What is annoying is that it is NOT always there. Sometimes even at 80 mph the wheel is dead straight, but most of the time it is there. It is never vibrating below 60-65 mph regardless of road surface.

I have installed:

I am running Cobb Stage 3 with accessport
Cobb Intake
Cobb Downpipe
Cobb High Flow Cat
ETS Extreme Catback

I suspect this parts below for the vibration

18x9.5 +18 AVID.1 6 SPOKE TUNER WHEELS
67.1 to 73.1 hub centric aluminum rings
Continental ExtremeContact DWS 265/35-18 XL

I don't have the stock wheels and don't remember how it drove because I sold them right away to get ready for winter in Fargo, ND.

At this point I am suspecting the aluminum rings since they don't really fit tightly. I have ordered three more different sets from plastic and will see if that eliminates the vibration.

QUESTION 1: Is this vibration normal for Evo's on 9.5 tires at 60-80 mph?

Q 2: Is it possible that the lugs are causing the vibration, they are cheap from aluminum. (im getting a new set from steal)?

Q 3: How likely is it that it is alignment? The car goes dead straight. I don't think it is.

Q 4: Avid.1 Wheels are cheap. Is it possible that they can not be balanced for highway?