Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Common evo 8 problem areas

Search this Thread

Old Jan 19, 2010, 01:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Common evo 8 problem areas

I was looking at the "Im new to a evo" thread and it had a little about what to look for when buying a evo. It DIDNT however say any particular problem areas for the evo VIIIs.
I have heard that they have very poor transfer cases and they tend to be a weak point. Please correct me if im wrong.

Any other problem areas/weak points?

Looks like an awesome forum with a bunch of information.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 01:23 PM
Evolving Member

T/C is only weak if you beat the hell out of it. I have 85K on mine and have had ZERO issues with it. Only routine maintenance. I did have the clutch replaced at around 83K though. Other than that no problems with the drive train or anything else for that matter. It's still as quiet inside as the day I bought it new!

That is amazing in itself as I had a heck of an off track event once. Nothing but many from me!
Old Jan 19, 2010, 01:25 PM
Evolving Member

The MR's have the weak T-Case and that is with a 8 or a 9. Other than that I would not buy one that is already moded unless the work was done by a shop with a good rep. Also do a boost leak test and a compresson test .
Old Jan 19, 2010, 01:34 PM
Evolving Member

used

Im sure a lot of other people will chime in here, but the truth is the evo 8-9 is an extremely reliable vehicle. I am not aware of any problems that commonly arise from normal daily driving use. Most problems come up when the car is modified heavily, raced, or someone drives it like a donkey, and i think that would happen with any car.