Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

400 to the wheels target EVO 9

Search this Thread

Old Oct 22, 2015, 01:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
400 to the wheels target EVO 9

Hello,

I am new to the Japanese "sports" car scene and I am thinking of getting an EVO 9 as a daily driver as I love manual gearbox cars. I previously drove my cousins 03 EVO 8 and was amazed how well it drove.

Hoping to educate my self here and get to know these cars more prior to making a purchase.

I would like to get safely 350-400 to the wheels, something reliable and dependable.

How do I reach that level ?

If the car is making 350 to the wheels how much is it to the engine ?
Old Oct 22, 2015, 04:19 AM

TBE, intake, injectors, fuel pump, cams, upper/lower IC piping, boost controller, tune, and you should be right around 350 to the wheels.
Old Oct 22, 2015, 09:08 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by B Roharik
TBE, intake, injectors, fuel pump, cams, upper/lower IC piping, boost controller, tune, and you should be right around 350 to the wheels.
This.

I was able to hit 366 to the wheels in fairly cold weather and low humidity on a DJ and still had stock injectors and mods in my sig minus the o2 housing, fuel pump and AMS FMIC. Retune was done under high humidity and heat so was hard to compare (~350whp) though the butt dyno let me know there was an increase with the aformentioned mods added. I too am aiming for 400whp at some point but I want it on 92 octane so likely will need to make the jump to a larger stock frame turbo.

I think it is just about impossible to accurately calculate the flywheel HP from dyno numbers. There are so many differences from one car to the next no single formula is going to get you there. E.g. FWD will have far less loss whereas AWD will have significantly more due to our more complex drivetrain.