Notices
Lancer Tires, Wheels, Brakes & Suspension - Sponsored by The Tire Rack From suspension settings to new wheels and tires or brake upgrades... it's all covered here. Sponsored by: The Tire Rack

Help - Tire Rotation

Search this Thread

Old Apr 30, 2008, 02:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help - Tire Rotation

Hi,

I have a Lancer 08 GTS and i'm do for a wheel rotation. The dealer wants $80+tax to rotate the wheels. I want to do it myself. I'm new to diy car maintenance. I've borrowed a jack and jack stands.

Here are my concerns.

If i take the wheel off, will it ripp off the tire pressure sensor somewhere?

Any advice or suggestion would be greatful. thanx
Old Apr 30, 2008, 02:30 PM
Evolving Member

Your sensors are wireless man. Just take off the lugs, front tires to the back, back to the opposite side front (unless they're directional tires- in which case back to front, front to back).

i should mention too that each wheel is coded differently, so you shouldn't have a problem with rotation

Last edited by spumoni1984; Apr 30, 2008 at 02:33 PM.
Old Apr 30, 2008, 02:36 PM
Evolved Member

Have you ever taken a wheel of a car before? If you only know how to drive a car and put gas in it I suggest you get some help from someone. It's not that hard unless you are the type of person that doesn't want to get their hands dirty. Put some latex gloves on to keep your hands clean-BTW just don't bend over too far!
Old Apr 30, 2008, 02:40 PM
Evolved Member

i did mine for free at Americas Tire.. lol
Old Apr 30, 2008, 02:42 PM
Evolved Member

if you still have the stock tires, they are directional. so only rotate front to back, do not do the criss cross pattern.
Old Apr 30, 2008, 05:17 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
if yo have the jack stands is a piece of cake. You will not rip off anything and wow $80 + tax is ridiculous.
Old Apr 30, 2008, 08:09 PM

Originally Posted by kalpakiotis