Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Hot Brakes - Undertray the cause?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 18, 2009, 08:56 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hot Brakes - Undertray the cause?

So I've been tracking my Evo IX for nearly 3 years. Never really had any brake problems before. I've gotten a mushy pedal in the past, but that was back when I had bad braking (over-braking) technique and a mostly stock setup.

Fast forward to 2009. Did a few events this year; no problems. I bleed after every weekend event; and flush a few times a year. Here's my brake setup now:
- Hawk DTC60's, Goodridge SS lines, Forge Air Cooling Ducts, Motul fluid, front Ti shims

.......Then I installed a Beatrush Undertray. First event out it was about 94 ambient and I was getting a soft pedal in every session; actually lost my brakes in one session. Pedal to the floor and everything. I chalked it up to the temps and braking too much. I bled the brakes and the next day I kept the sessions short and things seemed ok.

Today; in the first session no less - brake pedal to the floor and nothing! Ambient temp like 65. Off-track (obviously) at a high rate of speed. Pumping the brake pedal and using the e-brake even to no avail.
So I flushed the entire system of fluid and went ahead and removed the underpanel while I was at it since the car was jacked up. ZERO problems the rest of the day.

Seems pretty cut-and-dry to me that the underpanel is causing my issues. Anybody else have any issues like this or a different hypothesis to offer?
Old Jul 18, 2009, 11:32 PM
Evolved Member

Received 209 Likes on 189 Posts