Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Racing Shoes?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 1, 2014, 02:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Racing Shoes?

Hey guys, I'm hoping to start doing autox next year (no possible way to get ready for this year, sadly) so I've been doing research and reading the STU threads to learn about what it's all about. I've been trying to do the things that I can now so that when the time comes I'm a little more prepared that I am now.

I know that SCCA (and probably most places) won't let you do runs with no shoes on, the problem is that I've been driving with no shoes on for a few years now. When I started driving a manual I used to get my left foot stuck underneath the clutch pedal at lights sometimes, I also didn't feel safe with my pedal inputs using the shoes I was wearing at the time. I ended up ditching wearing shoes while driving shortly afterwards and I've been driving with socks/barefoot ever since.

I went out and grabbed a pair of converse all stars (as per the internet's advice) a few months ago and I just can't make them work, the pedal feel is just more muted than what I'm used to and my shifting/heel-toes are dreadful with them on. I've been trying to work through it and get used to them but it's just frustrating. Recently I've been looking at racing shoes/boots (Sparco, AlpineStars, etc) since they might give me a better pedal feel that's closer to what I'm used to, but I have pretty large feet. When I was wearing DC's I wore a US 15, my dress shoes are about the same size (14.5 I think?) and the chucks are US 13, the chucks get a bit tight walking around but in the car they're fine comfort-wise, also from what I was told chucks run fairly large.