Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Auto-X newbie here. Need help with confirming SCCA class

Search this Thread

Old Feb 7, 2016, 02:22 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auto-X newbie here. Need help with confirming SCCA class

Setting up where I went wrong - I did my first couple of events summer of 2014. Because I enjoyed my first taste of auto-x so much I figured while the car was apart for a clutch/HG - I'd have the engine, TM, & TC rebuilt to handle the upcoming abuse of regular auto-x and I also want to do some track driving in the future. I did all the dis/reassembling myself it took so long I missed the 2015 season.

Here in lies the problem because I was a moron and didn't check the SCCA rulebook first before deciding to stroke the motor and buy a BR stage 3 head with cams - I unknowingly bumped myself all the way up to Street Modified, correct? (Once my novice status is over that is) I'm hoping someone is gonna tell me I'm misinterpreting the rules. haha. There's no chance of me being in any one of the Street Touring classes, right? Regardless of suspension, cooling, tire size, aero mods, etc. - with a worked motor I'd be in SM.
Old Feb 7, 2016, 06:28 PM
Evolving Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
You are correct. Modding pretty much anything in the engine will put you in SM. Since you are just starting out, trying to learn with a powerful car in autocross will be harder to handle then before. But if you aren't trying to compete nationally I wouldn't worry about it. Just get as much seat time as you can.
Old Feb 7, 2016, 07:06 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 724 Likes on 566 Posts
Hah, no. You cant make major motor changes and expect to not be in a modified class, in this case SM.
Old Feb 8, 2016, 12:39 PM
Evolved Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts