Notices
Project Cars / Build Threads Please post your build threads here.

Evo IX 2.3 Liter Build FP Black Build

Old Aug 17, 2016, 10:58 AM
EvoM Guru

Received 345 Likes on 262 Posts
Evo IX 2.3 Liter Build FP Black Build

Gents, all I can say is, it's about time.

Hello Evom, my name is Ron and I've owned an evo for a little over 7 years now enjoying every moment of it. My friends and family don't understand my obsession with the car or why I spend so much time and money working on it, but the car rewards me so much that it's justified.

A little background about myself; I was born and raised in San Diego, California and always had a passion for wrenching on cars(as most of us do). I graduated from San Diego State University with a Bachelors in Electrical Engineering and have since applied those skills to the evo platform. I drove a mini van for 3 years while saving for the Evo. It was a 2003 Honda Odyssey, a very fast van...with Vtech. I have been on these forums for some time now.

I'm 26 now. I daily drove the evo up until the middle of 2015 when I spun a bearing, which resulted in a hole in my block. It was self induced and totally my fault. At the time, I didn't have the funds for a build so I just threw in a factory long block and called it a day.

Now, I will be using the car for both occasional track and drag, but it will spend 95% of it's time on the streets during the weekends. As such, I wanted a well rounded car with great cornering capabilities, substantial driver feedback, and the power to lay the smack down on anybody!!! No, no i'll be happy with what it makes in the end.

My Stock Block, cams, turbo numbers were an unsafe: 429hp/414trq on E85.
My goal for this build will be a reliable 650hp/600trq on E85. If I get anything close to that I will be happy enough.

I'll update this thread as much as I can, stay tuned for pictures and progress .

The List: