Notices

Inner Tie Rod How To

Search this Thread

Old Jul 7, 2011, 04:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Inner Tie Rod How To

Ok so i finally got my inner tie rods replaced. Im no professional but i do most of my own work like this. Im makin this how to for others who may want to do this themselfs so they can see how i did it. Its pretty easy and straightforward.There were a couple things i needed before i did it including 2 2" hose clamps for the boots and an inner tie rod tool i rented from a local oreillys store. This is the passengers side but both are identical. So get the vehicle off the ground and the tire off. Use jack stands for saftey! then you'll be here.

Inner Tie Rod How To-2011-07-02_15-18-03_123-copy.jpg

Remove the castle nut and pin from the outer tie rod and loosen up the jam nut on the shaft.Mark everything including where the old jam nut is on your old tie rod and which direction was up. I used a paint marker and drew a line down the top of the rod so i knew how everything ligned up. Tap the outer tie rod out of the steering knuckle without damaging its threads unless your replacing it anyways. Mine were new so i kept them. Once everythings marked remove the outer tie rod.

Inner Tie Rod How To-2011-07-02_15-23-49_620.jpg

Now you will need to remove the boot covering the inner joint. It uses a one time clamp so once its opened it will have to be replaced with a standard 2" hose clamp worked perfect for me. The outer clamp is re-usable. Next i got out the inner tie rod tool i rented and turned it right off. This is almost a must have tool because the control arm is completly blocking all access with a wrench.

Inner Tie Rod How To-2011-07-02_15-29-50_599.jpg

Inner Tie Rod How To-2011-07-02_15-29-21_263.jpg

Inner Tie Rod How To-2011-07-02_15-34-15_421.jpg