Notices

Why I am going with Drew's BBK

Search this Thread

Old Jul 18, 2014, 05:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why I am going with Drew's BBK

This wordy post actually has a point so please bear with me.

When I got out of university I took a job as a travelling sales rep. This was around ’06 or ’07. The company sends me all over the US and I drove rental cars everywhere. Back in those days I couldn’t care less about cars, I graduated with a geography degree, I was a tree hugger and I wasn’t supposed to like or even care about cars. However, one road trip made me change my perspective and made me pay attention to cars and the features car companies put into them versus what people want or need.

My company had me fly into Lewiston, Idaho for some errand and I was then to drive all the way to Eugene, Oregon for follow up tasks. When I was done with my errands in Lewiston, I took a rental car in Clarkston, Washington and because I had ludicrous mileage accumulated on my membership, the rental office bumped me up to the best premium sports car they got on the lot.

Sweet right? You bet. It has all the hallmark attribute of sport cars that I’ve been conditioned to like: aggressive styling, deep exhaust note, huge spoiler, huge stereo, leather and all that crap. Completely brand new, had only been driven for 70 miles. I distinctly remember the guy setting me up with the car telling me that it’s got all the latest in safety features, super high rating in crash tests and what have you. I wasn’t supposed to like cars but I had a grin from ear to ear behind the wheel. As I drove down the street, I felt as if everyone was checking me out and it made me feel good.