Notices

On the right track?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 21, 2018, 07:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
On the right track?

I posted this on another evo forum, but figured I might get some other opinions. I have been looking to make some modifications to my 2011 Lancer Ralliart and have hit a wall in my searches. I am very new to the car modification scene, but I am eager to learn and do as much work myself that I can. Right now the car is completely stock, but I am thinking I want to invest some time to make it my own. Right now I am looking to upgrade the brakes, suspension, and tires (before horsepower upgrades). This car is my daily driver (though I don't drive it much, more of a weekender at this point). I don't plan to track the car, but I would really like to improve handling and if possible improve ride comfort since I live in the Chicago area so there are pretty bad pot holes (maybe not Michigan sized ones) and snow.

For Suspension: I am thinking I would like to get either the KW V2 or Fortune Auto 500s coilovers. Both seem to get very good reviews, while the Fortune Auto have a slight lead, because it sounds like they have extremely good customer service and it is easier to get them serviced if required. I can't seem to find a consensus on if one is superior to the other. Again since I am new I would like to get something that I can tune to my liking and not have to worry about in the future.

For Tires: I have been using Continental ExtremeContact DWS on the stock rims for 40k miles since I was living in a warmer climate when I bought them. I would like to move to a summer set and a winter set of tires. I am planning on getting Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 for the summer and then Michelin X-Ice Xi3s for the winter months. I am not sure what setup I should go with
Option 1: 18" Enkei RPF1 with summer tires and OEM with winter tires.
Option 2: OEM with summers tires and 17" with winter tires.