Notices
ECU Flash

Is it possible to have large knock sum generated from hard shifting?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 11, 2011, 07:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is it possible to have large knock sum generated from hard shifting?

I finally have my evoscan working today! AEM wideband logging via serial>usb, installed jdm3bar map sensor and configured for 2byte load.

I just logged one good pull through 2nd to 4th and I have a couple logs of knock sum of 36, then 12 the next cell. I think this happened right at 7000rpm when I shifted, is it possible this is from hard shifting or is this real and should I start adjusting for it? The timing looks to be quite high at these points.

I attaced a screen shot of part of the log, this is my first time logging with everything working, I have watched r3compiles videos a couple times and have a good basic understanding just looking for some input...

Also definately know I have a boost leak... testing for that this weekend just put together a boost leak tester tonight.

(the forum auto adjusted the size if the image, made it a little harder to read)
Attached Thumbnails Is it possible to have large knock sum generated from hard shifting?-log.jpg  
Old Jul 11, 2011, 08:19 PM
Evolved Member

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
I THINK I remember reading a thread a while ago that mentionned that someone had experienced this sort of knock during a pull, and when they used detcans to check if it was real, it turns out it was. There's not much that can be done about it though, can you post your timing map? I've found that lowering timing from 100-200 load at 5k+ rpm (basically, the load/rpm area you hit during a shift) can help quite a bit with shift knock, however that was for NLTS shifting.

On a side note, you're logging more items than you need with evoscan and it's slowing down the process a whole lot. Uncheck whatever you don't need to be logging (ie coolant temp, air temp, speed, airflow, etc)
Old Jul 11, 2011, 09:18 PM