Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Amsoil vs. Mobil 1

Search this Thread

Old Sep 2, 2003, 04:48 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Amsoil vs. Mobil 1

After researching the info on the Net it's obvious that Amsoil is a much superior synthetic oil than Mobil 1, probably the best synthetic oil made. Mobil 1 is not as good as we all think. My next oil change will be with Amsoil. Anyone using Amsoil? How do you like it?
Old Sep 2, 2003, 04:50 PM
Evolving Member

I've heard of folks swearing by Amsoil in their tranny's or rear ends, didn't know they even had motor oil...heh.
Old Sep 2, 2003, 04:59 PM
Evolved Member

I've been using Amsoil in all my cars for about 7 years. It's pricey, but probably the least expensive insurance I've ever bought. and it verifiably on the dyno and the rearend frees up the most horsepower.
Old Sep 2, 2003, 05:27 PM
In Timeout

I'll eventually switch to AMSOil 2000, but Ill wait till winters over and I've killed my two cases of Mobile 1. To say that Mobile 1 is somehow inferior or bad oil is really ridiculous though. Your not going to notice a difference in my opinion...but in the tests AMSOil looks to be far superior to anything else. AMSOil is hard to find and expensive, thats the two downsides...
Old Sep 2, 2003, 06:04 PM
Evolving Member

I'll stick with what Mits recommends and what the real racecars use...Mobile 1 Syn.
Old Sep 2, 2003, 06:49 PM
Evolving Member

Originally posted by StriktlyBidness
I'll stick with what Mits recommends and what the real racecars use...Mobile 1 Syn.
Mobile 1 is paying Mitsu a pretty penny to market there product on our oil caps along with advertising on race cars, but Mitsu doesn't mention Mobile 1 at all in our manuals as a matter of they only recommend synthetic oils that meet or exceeds ILSAC GF-3 or API SL/CF cert.
Old Sep 2, 2003, 07:02 PM
Evolving Member

Originally posted by 5StarSuzuki