Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

ACT 6 Puck Race Clutch. DD?

Old Jan 15, 2012, 12:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ACT 6 Puck Race Clutch. DD?

Okay, I'm new to Evo's and just purchased a very nice 2003 last week with 68K. The previous owner told me, that last summer he installed an ACT Stage 4, 6 puck race clutch.

I can't decide if I like it for DD or not. I'm so use to being able to take of smoothly on a stock clutch, or down shift with out dropping the whole clutch.

There is, no middle point with this clutch, are people using it for DD? what would be the benefit of the previous owner installing it? It's a lightly modded (basic bolt ons) Evo.

Is it just a matter of getting use to it? or does a smooth take off not exist with this clutch?
Old Jan 15, 2012, 01:14 PM
Evolved Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
It will never take off smooth, it's a total on/off switch. I used it as a disc replacement twice 6 years ago as it was cheap and it was great for shifting fast and that's about it. One of the disc blew up from the rivets coming loose and destroying my bell housing, pressure plate and flywheel.
Old Jan 15, 2012, 01:32 PM
EvoM Moderator

Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts
ACT HDG6, I have 16k miles on mine and it is just dandy. 550whp dynojet and I drive it every day, traffic is fine. Not the smoothest clutch ever but use the stock flywheel and it is plenty smooth.
Old Jan 15, 2012, 01:42 PM
Evolved Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by scheides
ACT HDG6, I have 16k miles on mine and it is just dandy. 550whp dynojet and I drive it every day, traffic is fine. Not the smoothest clutch ever but use the stock flywheel and it is plenty smooth.
Is this the sprung or un-sprung hub?

I currently have the ACT HD pressure plate and 6 puck sprung disc. Haven't got to try it out though as I'm still 2 years into my build.
Old Jan 15, 2012, 09:18 PM
Evolving Member