Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Test pipe or high flow cat? Your opinions.

Search this Thread

Old Jul 4, 2012, 04:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Test pipe or high flow cat? Your opinions.

I'm looking at getting either a high flow cat or test pipe. I'm unsure which way to go. I have found brands of both that have a connection for the 02 sensor so that way it should not throw a code. Had anyone used one of those and still had a code thrown? I'm an Evo newbie, that's why so many questions. Only been an owner for 3 months. : )
Old Jul 4, 2012, 04:06 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Either catted or catless CAN throw a code. Just because there is an 02 bung does not mean that a test pipe cannot throw a code, it still can, even with a defouler. Only real way to ensure that you don't get a cel is to get the cel disabled when you get a tune. (unless you can't do that on these cars, correct me if I'm wrong, haven't gotten tuned yet).
Old Jul 4, 2012, 04:12 PM

Originally Posted by Tpatterson
Either catted or catless CAN throw a code. Just because there is an 02 bung does not mean that a test pipe cannot throw a code, it still can, even with a defouler. Only real way to ensure that you don't get a cel is to get the cel disabled when you get a tune. (unless you can't do that on these cars, correct me if I'm wrong, haven't gotten tuned yet).

I'm pretty sure you can disable it when you have it tuned.

On a side note, has anyone got any experience with those all in one down pipe/test pipe things?
Old Jul 4, 2012, 05:40 PM
Evolved Member

Received 41 Likes on 37 Posts
Originally Posted by Tpatterson
This and yes you can disable the codes using ECU tuning.
Old Jul 4, 2012, 05:56 PM

test pipe
Old Jul 4, 2012, 08:33 PM
Evolved Member