Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

A 2003, 21K Evo for $10,300 ???

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 10:27 PM
  #1  
DetroitEVO's Avatar
Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
A 2003, 21K Evo for $10,300 ???

Hi all,

I found this on cars.com. "2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo - Xenon - Sunroof - Turbo.With 271 horsepower and 273 ft-lbs. of torque, the viscous all wheel drive system with center and rear locking differentials covers any road surface in all seasons with sure footedness.For more info please email me at carsmotortests@aol.com [PHONE: 5104921110 ]" 20,100 Miles."

The phone number is a fax, and the individual said he wanted $4k down via tradesquare down without seeing the car. Don't know about this one as it looks suspect..

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...6&aff=national

What do you guys think ?
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 10:32 PM
  #2  
thadon84's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 448
Likes: 0
From: SoCal
must be a typo or somethin if it sounds to good to be true it is trust me b/c i speak from experience
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 10:35 PM
  #3  
Turbolover's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,209
Likes: 0
From: Phx,AZ
typo!
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 10:36 PM
  #4  
94vortech's Avatar
Newbie
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
From: Navarre, FL
Check out this site http://www.carbuyingtips.com/fraud.htm . It has some great information on fraudulent escrow companies...that's what that sounds like. I was looking at a car that sounded too good to be true, he was trying to get me to put my money into a fraudulent escrow called www.carbookbuy.com. The site looks professional but it is listed on the site i linked above.

Hope this helps.

Jerry
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 10:36 PM
  #5  
SilverEvo8owner's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,907
Likes: 0
From: dublin, oxford, chillicothe OH
There's no reason to sell an EVO for that low. Unless it's been rolled 3 times.

SCAM.
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 10:41 PM
  #6  
EVOONYOASS's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,387
Likes: 0
From: char, NC
I had a guy trying to sell a 2003 for $10,000 cash and wanted to get a $4,000 down payment and use tradesquare as a "secure third party". I did a little investigating and found out fawked up stories about people using tradesquare and losing thousands.

I emailed the guy and told him we couldn't use tradesquare and I would just pay him CASH out right, but he would just keep sending me the same email that he wanted to use tradesquare. Made no sense! I was offering to meet him and just give him cash, but he kept saying to send $4,000 to tradesquare as a down payment. My situation had to be a scam. It's just like the horror stories I read. They dip out with your money and you never see it again. Tradesquare says in their protection policy that they cover it but they end up disputing it with you and telling you they won't cover it. That's what the people were saying in the stories. Do a search! Be very wary.


Originally Posted by DetroitEVO
Hi all,

I found this on cars.com. "2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo - Xenon - Sunroof - Turbo.With 271 horsepower and 273 ft-lbs. of torque, the viscous all wheel drive system with center and rear locking differentials covers any road surface in all seasons with sure footedness.For more info please email me at carsmotortests@aol.com [PHONE: 5104921110 ]" 20,100 Miles."

The phone number is a fax, and the individual said he wanted $4k down via tradesquare down without seeing the car. Don't know about this one as it looks suspect..

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...6&aff=national

What do you guys think ?
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 11:00 PM
  #7  
EVO8868's Avatar
Newbie
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
From: Los Angeles
Sounds like either a typo or a scam. I've seen several ads on autotrader.com for good condition MKIV Supras for under $10,000 but they always want money up front and they turned out to be scams. Better be careful!
Old Jun 28, 2005 | 11:41 PM
  #8  
DC2TMike's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
From: NJ
if he won't show you the car in person, thats means its def. a scam.
Old Jun 29, 2005 | 12:20 AM
  #9  
Jakeg97's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (56)
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,132
Likes: 1
From: Western NY
if it sounds to be good to be true, then it probably is .....
Old Jun 29, 2005 | 12:25 AM
  #10  
evo_rc's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (20)
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,129
Likes: 4
From: Hot Az!!
hahaha....a low mileage evo for $10k ???? there is no way..............
Old Jun 29, 2005 | 05:50 AM
  #11  
rsboy's Avatar
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
iTrader: (48)
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,365
Likes: 1
From: Detroit, man!
There was a guy on the nasioc boards who got scammed with that $10K Supra ad. Definitely watch what you are doing. I mean a good seller would not be hiding the product they are trying to sell and you should not have any problems veiwing what you are trying to buy. That tradesquare thing sounds like it was used by that Supra scam also.
Old Jun 29, 2005 | 06:30 AM
  #12  
jjm4life's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,729
Likes: 0
From: boston
this has got to be a scam. no way would it be that cheap and if hes being shady trying to make you use the tradesquare you should just walk away while you still have your money. too good to be true means just that
Old Jun 29, 2005 | 06:34 AM
  #13  
jerdeitzel's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 963
Likes: 0
From: Cedarburg, WI
Do not send money!!!!! This is a scam, look under nigerian car scams in google. It has been going on for many years. I actaully got two "certified checks" in the mail from these people. for a wrx i sold. I knew something was fishy and i ended up being right. Both checks were fake!
Old Jun 29, 2005 | 06:40 AM
  #14  
nastyevo8's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
From: In total seclusion
that **** is a complete scam. people like that screw people trying to sell real ****.
Old Jun 29, 2005 | 06:45 AM
  #15  
nnorris7413's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,161
Likes: 0
From: Wilmette, IL
I almost got scammed by someone like that. I was very lucky that i cought myself and realized what i was about to do. Do not send him any money!



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 AM.