Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

new evo for $16,000. on ebay

Old May 31, 2004 | 12:20 PM
  #1  
maki's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
From: chicagoland
new evo for $16,000. on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...tem=2480678343

notice description
"!!!BUY IT NOW PRICE IS 16000$!!!
United States "

so i contact this joker, knowing this is too good to be true, and heres what he wrote:

Hello,

I am nt a dealer,First you have to know the car is available for sale . The car can be yours in 2-3 days and for that, you need just to be agree with my condition stated below and the car will be yours.
I am currently located in Rome , Italy and the car will be shipped from here I will pay the shipping and insurance charges as I have a friend who works at FedEx and it will arrange for me a low price shipping.Shipping will take days.Also I will declare the car a gift so you will pay NO CUSTOMS WHEN YOU WILL RECEIVE IT!
The price includes the shipping and insurance fees.
1. SHIPMENT :
It will be shipped from here to your location with Lufthansa Air Cargo and from there FedEx will pick it up and deliver it to your door.
2. PAYMENT :
I'm a serious seller with experience in this field. I'm a fair trader with a good feedback which is the proof that l have closed a lot of successful deals.
You will arrange payment through wire transfer ( www.westernunion.com).
All you have to do is go to www.westernunion.com and find an local agent near you were you have to go and send the cash.A deposit of 3000 USD must be payed prior to shipping and the remaining balance upon recieving and inspection of the car.
3. INSURANCE
The car will be insured at the delivery service and insured for the transport, that means if something happens with the package shipped the shipping company will cover the damages.
4. RETURN POLICY
As soon as the package arrives, you will test the car and if it does not matches 100% to your expectations, you will return it in max. 7 days since the arrival date. In this case I will send you the full amount back and you will send me the product in the original crate and you don't have to pay the return shipping and insurance.
If this will be ok with you just email back with your info and tell me what info you need more about the car and the transaction and you will have it.

Sincerely hope to do the transaction.



can you believe this s..t....
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:26 PM
  #2  
1sweetoz's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 352
Likes: 0
From: New Joisee
Some poor sap in Rome is really going to be missing his Evo form out front of his house!!!
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:28 PM
  #3  
Quickshift's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,189
Likes: 0
From: MD
If its to good to be true it ussually is bull$hit , in my book Sounds like a scam trying to rip ya off for alot of green.
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:35 PM
  #4  
evo542's Avatar
Evolved Member
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,227
Likes: 0
same story over and over again: free shiping, i'm located somewhere in europe, wire the money through western union - i will pay for extra expenses, BS BS etc. etc.
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:41 PM
  #5  
UFO's Avatar
UFO
Evolved Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,529
Likes: 0
From: Houston, TX
He's going to FedEx the car? Is assembly required?

I'm surprised anyone even falls for this scam anymore.
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:48 PM
  #6  
Drive02Lancer's Avatar
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
Photogenic
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 1
From: BELLEVILLE, IL
in one of the pics...it has a billboard of 'enterprise' and '1-800-rent-a-car'

ive never been to europe..but is it really like that? and in another pic i think, is a nice full size GMC truck....

but i could be wrong....i dunno.
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:51 PM
  #7  
Mikebuzzsaw's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
If he from rome he said he only ships in the USA? Why doesn't he sell it to another person in europe

Why is an american car in europe anywaYS?
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:53 PM
  #8  
maki's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
From: chicagoland
pathetic attempt, but there are people naive/gullible enough to send 3 grand to this fuc.er

..he will ship the car in a "crate" to your house
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:56 PM
  #9  
maki's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
From: chicagoland
16 bids already

how fuc..ing stupid do you have to be....
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:58 PM
  #10  
DriftZero's Avatar
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
From: Town A
Actually it looks as if its at a Chrysler dealership.
Old May 31, 2004 | 12:59 PM
  #11  
Foote's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 104
Likes: 0
From: Colonial Heights, VA
http://bellsouthpwp.net/h/o/hollermitsubishi/prod02.htm he took pictures of a evo at holler mitsubishi in florida
Old May 31, 2004 | 01:07 PM
  #12  
Mitchubishievo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (310)
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,287
Likes: 1
From: Chicago NW Suburbs
Wow, yet another fakie on Ebay.
Old May 31, 2004 | 01:39 PM
  #13  
plokivos's Avatar
Account Disabled
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,902
Likes: 4
From: Atlanta
Someone bid and lets find out. I'm not bidding, but someone should, just so we'll know about it for sure.

lol
Old May 31, 2004 | 01:44 PM
  #14  
Ryan Bell's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 145
Likes: 0
From: Houston, TX
This is the third time this has been done in the last two weeks. I've personally emailed three "different" people doing this (2 Evos and an '03 M3), and they've all told me the same story. What a joke. I've tried to inform eBay about this.
Old May 31, 2004 | 01:57 PM
  #15  
evil8's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 124
Likes: 0
From: In my garage
to all you ebay experts: why would someone w/ 67 feedbacks & 100% positive feedback try to scam all of the sudden?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.