Notices
Evo How To Requests / Questions / Tips If you're looking for a how-to on something, ask in here.

How-To polish (rims)

Search this Thread

Old May 5, 2006, 03:24 AM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How-To polish (rims) 56k warning

This is my first how-to so hopefully I am writing and explaining everything clearly enough for people to easily understand. If their are any questions, feel free to PM me at any time. I am not an expert and do not claim that status. Remember that doing any polishing work is at your own discretion. Damage done by improperly polishing can be costly, so please plan what you are doing ahead of time. On with the show.

This is a how-to that will explain the process I applied when fixing a polished wheel. The process is very similar to polishing something that has not been polished before. The roughness of the surface will determine what grit you need to start with.

Polishing is a time consuming process that will require determination and attention to detail to get right. Skipping steps or being lazy will definitely show in your final result. So, to save time, do it right the first time!!

Ok onto the main part!! For the application I’m involved with I used the following materials:

Sandpaper - grits 400-2000

Sanding block-- not necessary but helps with first couple of steps. When you get into the higher sandpaper, do it by hand!!

Bowls-- Or something else to hold water for wet sanding:

Mothers Polish-- or some other polishing agent

Soap and water-- make sure to clean thoroughly with soap and water between each step. Some people may not do this, but I do to make sure I don’t get dirt scratches in the later high grit steps.

Non-abrasive towels-- or cloths. For applying the polish.

Ok, here we have a pretty busted up rim. Theirs is no major damage to the rim, but the salt has eaten into the polished part of the rim. What can you do for $100 for a set with tires??