Notices
Evo How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in the Request sub-forum.

My jdm rear fascia install (welding/painting/fabrication inside)

Search this Thread

Old May 3, 2018, 02:58 PM
Jp7
Evolved Member

Received 104 Likes on 79 Posts
My jdm rear fascia install (welding/painting/fabrication inside)

Last July I took delivery of a rear jdm fascia for the CT9A but I did not have time to install it. I've finally gotten around to working on this.

My original concern was that I could not use a crash beam. I have since seen that one of the vendors offers a tube-crash beam which is I believe made of chromemoly. I wanted to have something underneath there.

I took some measurements, and with some luck I things are going out well. I enjoy tig-welding so I have been making this bumper out of aluminum. I am welding it with AC current. I am no expert but I am trying to learn more by doing.

This shows the factory bumper from the bottom

The factory bumper sticks back about 4 inches.

This shows the clearances underneath.

Factory USDM bumper fit

This is the clearance between the original USDM rear fascia and the end of my megan racing exhaust.

Rear fascia removed

Crash beam removed

rear fascia

Testing the fit of the JDM rear

The USDM crash beam really sticks out far.

Testing the fit with the jdm rear fascia and no crash beam

The JDM rear fascia does contact the exhaust. It will need to be shortened.
Old May 3, 2018, 03:04 PM
Jp7
Evolved Member

I went to purchase material for the new crash beam. I made this out of aluminum. It weighs 11 pounds less than the original one. it is 1/8th inch thick material.

needed a 1 inch drill bit to make holes so I could get a socket in there

it is really tight on the edge, there is only about 1/8 inch of clearance

Very tight fit back here too not much room

very tight in he