Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Big Brake Kits, Comments on Wilwood, Rotora & KSport

Search this Thread

Old Oct 20, 2008, 10:00 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Big Brake Kits, Comments on Wilwood, Rotora & KSport

I do a lot of track events on road racing courses. Tracks such as Summit Point, Pocono, Watkins Glen, New Jersey Motorsports Park, etc. I'm a upper run group driver and instructor so my pace is fast and hard.

The stock Brembo's on my Evo 8 are not keeping up with my driving and I need more reliability and stopping power. I already have the performance pads and rotors, brake duct cooling kit and SRF fluid.

The first thing that comes to mind is a Big Brake Kit (BBK) but I don't want to spend a fortune.
The kits I've found on the lower end of the price scale are:
Wilwood, Rotora and KSport.

Can anyone with experience comment on these?

Thanks

Last edited by george3; Oct 20, 2008 at 12:11 PM.
Old Oct 20, 2008, 11:52 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
What pads and rotors were you using with your stock calipers? There are a lot of products that will dramatically improve your braking performance using he stock caliper.

You should PM us and see if we can help you out.
Old Oct 20, 2008, 12:12 PM
Evolving Member

I have used Project Mu 777 (not impressed, lasted one weekend), Pagid Yellow (pretty good), CarboTech XP12's (very good). Rotors used were stock blanks and aftermarket slotted RotorPro's. Braided stainless steel brake lines.
Old Oct 20, 2008, 05:37 PM
Evolving Member

You might want to check with Racing Brake as well, they are located sorta local, NW New Jersey. I've heard great things about their pads, and their front 6-piston kit is comparable in price to the other's 4-piston setups.
Old Oct 21, 2008, 10:00 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts