EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community

EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/)
-   Evo X Engine Management / Tuning Forums (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/evo-x-engine-management-tuning-forums-257/)
-   -   AFR closed-loop behavior (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/evo-x-engine-management-tuning-forums/726964-afr-closed-loop-behavior.html)

Dr. Jekyll Mar 31, 2016 01:40 PM

AFR closed-loop behavior

I want to start by saying that I'm relatively new to the tuning scene. But thanks to the helpful individuals and posts on this site, I've been able to pick it up quickly. That being said, I have a couple questions.

My first question is in regard to the vehicle's AFR closed-loop behavior. Specifically, does the vehicle use the narrow-band AFR sensors to attempt to maintain stoich? Or does it actually try to hit the commanded AFR?

Most of the literature I've read on the subject (like Merlin's excellent tuning guide) state things like "in theory fuel economy during closed loop should be the same for any trim, seeing that the ECU is trying to keep a stoich 14.7:1." In an attempt to improve fuel economy and learn more about the vehicle, I've set my AFR to run leaner than stoich (~16:1) at idle and under low-load, cruise situation. In my situation, is the ECU still trying to maintain stoich or is it trying to maintain my commanded AFR? I have a wideband system set up and althought the readings trend updward when I lean it out, I'm still not hitting the commanded AFR while in closed-loop.