Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

Go from TF06-18K to ETS 5858?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29, 2019, 11:01 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Go from TF06-18K to ETS 5858?

Hey there,

I've been driving on ~415whp for about 4 years, though the Evo is now a summer weekend warrior and no longer a daily ticket magnet. For some reason I got the itch for more power, mentally lusting after that magic 500. So, I called up the nice folks at English and talked over some details. Thing is, I'm not sure I'm ready to move away from pump gas, as E85 is scarce around here. So, we're looking at pump gas options. For the price of a new motorcycle, I could upgrade my 18K to a 5858 with the ETS turbo kit, fuel pump, and a new clutch. For a few thousand more, we could throw in a cam and valve springs. But, even then, I'm not sure I'd see the magic 500 given my otherwise stock block and the **** fuel we have around here.

So, never having driven an Evo with more power than my own, I wanted to ask... how is the driveability of the 5858 turbo? How does, say, 480whp feel compared to my embarrassing 415? Is it worth $10K? My use case is curvy mountain roads, and maybe an occasional autocross.

And, from a financial incentive, is there a market for a used 18K with a matching manifold, ETS downpipe, etc.?

These are late-night musings of a dude approaching a mid-life crisis, but I'd love to hear some opinions.

Thanks!

Last edited by Metal; Jan 29, 2019 at 11:07 PM.
Old Jan 30, 2019, 12:26 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 1,543 Likes on 1,322 Posts
Should go with the gen2 5558. It flows a bit more air, and spools faster. If you do S2 cams you should get pretty damn close to 500whp. And yes, it will be a pretty decent difference.

I would say there is def a market for your current turbo setup. Probably get $1500-$1800 for turbo, DP, manifold, and intake.
The following users liked this post: