Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Comprehensive Claim=Increased Rates?

Old Dec 6, 2008, 05:30 AM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Comprehensive Claim=Increased Rates?

Well, wouldn't you know it....I've been driving for almost 30 years now and have never run into the dreaded "truck tire carcass" laying in the road until now, and it happens with my new X .

The damage is minor, but it will require more than my $100 deductible to fix.

For those of you that have filed a Comprehensive Claim (car keyed, egged, road debris. etc.) how did it effect your rates?

If you did get a rate increase, was it just on the comprehensive portion, or all around?

My insurance company (Nationwide) has been of no help, saying they can't determine if or what a potential rate increase would be until they have an estimate and match it against the "threshold" for the car (whatever that is)

Thanks!
Old Dec 6, 2008, 08:16 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My wife made a comprehensive claim, which was followed by a rate increase. I don't bother making claims for anything unless it's significantly more than the cost of the deductible now.

On the other hand, you asked your insurance company about it already. You probably weren't aware, but simply making such an inquiry can be counted as a claim. The rationale being that they now know that something happened, which means you're at higher risk for something happening in the future. I fell into this trap once. I decided it wasn't worth a rate increase after talking with the insurance company and getting an answer the same as yours. I paid out of pocket, but my rates increased anyway. The event also showed up on my CLUE insurance report.

Since you already talked to your insurance company, my advice to you is to pay your deductible and let them cover the rest. At this point, the damage may already be done.