Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

overall evo x reliability?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 9, 2015, 06:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question overall evo x reliability?

Hello, I'm new to Mitsubishi and evos in general and have been considering buying a evo x. The one I am looking at right now has 68k, is stock, looks clean, ect. I KNOW, you guys cant tell me exactly what that exact car is going to be like but in general what can I expect? YES, I have searched and have found a few things like the timing chain stretching, sometimes short clutch and tire life, and a few other issues, but not much. Anyways what is the general consensuses on reliability. Feel free to mention personal issues you have had as well as additional ones. Thanks, appreciate it.
Old Mar 9, 2015, 06:28 PM
Evolving Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Tire life depends on the tires you buy, so not mainly a problem with the evo x just be smart with the tires you buy. Be aware of the ayc pump failing, but with you not being at 100k miles you are ok. The pump has extended warranty 10yr/100k miles. Be careful of the clutch, yes the car is stock but you never know how the previous owner drove it. There's also issues with paint chipping, im sure the one you're looking at has some paint chips. The paint on the evo x is extremely thin, and it doesn't bother many of us if it's just a little bit of it. Other than that just makes sure everything is ok, drives alright, shifts ok, also make sure there is no transfer case wrong. When you test drive it, don't go completely easy on the shifting. Shift kind of hard and fast because sometimes grinds happen when you shif fast only.
Old Mar 9, 2015, 07:12 PM

Thanks, so not too many engine issues then? Are there that many high mileage evo x out there?
Old Mar 9, 2015, 07:41 PM

Originally Posted by 09 rex