Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

How heavily modded is this car?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 12:55 PM
  #1  
tlsole's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
From: Houston
How heavily modded is this car?

Hello,

Well i am looking for an evo 9, i have found this one, price listed is 20.7k(maybe bring it down to 18/19k drive out) It has 38k miles on it. Can you guys tell me what kind of mods he has done to this car?

http://images.autotrader.com/images/..._A.562x421.jpg
http://images.autotrader.com/images/..._A.562x421.jpg

I see an AEM intake, is that a stock I/C piping/Intercooler, no right? Should i even bother looking at this car?

I am open to any opinions/advice.

Thanks!
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 12:57 PM
  #2  
Billy@EnglishRacing's Avatar
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (18)
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,458
Likes: 0
From: Puyallup, wa
doesn't look heavily modded at all. all i see is intercooler piping and an intake. The fact that it has a full size battery is a pretty good indication that there is not extensive mods
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 12:58 PM
  #3  
Wallesasuaz's Avatar
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
Photogenic
Liked
iTrader: (23)
 
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,634
Likes: 13
From: Queens, NY
Looks pretty stockish... just minor mods. Nothing Heavy to be afraid of.
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:00 PM
  #4  
hacurio1's Avatar
Newbie
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
From: Milwaukee
Originally Posted by tlsole
Hello,

Well i am looking for an evo 9, i have found this one, price listed is 20.7k(maybe bring it down to 18/19k drive out) It has 38k miles on it. Can you guys tell me what kind of mods he has done to this car?

http://images.autotrader.com/images/..._A.562x421.jpg
http://images.autotrader.com/images/..._A.562x421.jpg

I see an AEM intake, is that a stock I/C piping/Intercooler, no right? Should i even bother looking at this car?

I am open to any opinions/advice.

Thanks!

Not a good pic. but it looks like UICP is aftermarket as well as intake. It has stock exaust manifold so it must have a Evo-9 frame turbo (direct bolt-on), But I can not tell if its a Red-Green, or what. It had an aftermarket (looks recirculated) BOV. Sorry but from that pic cant tell what esle is aftermarket. Looks clean though!
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:01 PM
  #5  
Silver06evo9mr's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,249
Likes: 0
From: Maryland
def has an aftermarket FMIC, IC pipe, intake, bov, and the red wire comming fro the battery means he has a sound system or at very lest the power cable still in the car.

looks like a good buy to me.,
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:02 PM
  #6  
thisxguy's Avatar
Evolved Member
15 Year Member
iTrader: (17)
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,155
Likes: 2
From: SoCal
aftermarket intercooler, upper intercooler pipe, AEM intake, looks like a turbosmart bov,

not sure what the red wire from the positive terminal is for
...some kind of grounding kit maybe

other than that, the car looks good. cant really tell you anything else about the car due to those two pictures. lol
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:05 PM
  #7  
mx4life85's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (38)
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 865
Likes: 1
From: Charlotte, NC
I wouldn't let those mods scare you away. There just minor bolt ons that you would be buying for yourself later on.
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:22 PM
  #8  
tlsole's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
From: Houston
Thanks guys!

I have requested more pictures of a over head engine bay shot, and a turbo shot, and the radiator pins. Hopefully he will reply back with them..

Im just scared the motor would be in bad condition. But the evo's have great motors, and its only 38k miles (by the way you cant change your meter like hondas can you? lol)
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:27 PM
  #9  
Tnnrx7's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,215
Likes: 1
From: IL
Looks pretty stock besides the parts mentioned above.

Run a CarFax on it to be safe and you will just need to look it over in person and give it a test drive.
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:36 PM
  #10  
tlsole's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
From: Houston
Yeah i do plan on buyin the carfax, however, im worried it has been in an accident, because the price is fairly cheap. 20.7k for an 9 MR? Is that right?
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:39 PM
  #11  
Sharkbite2000's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (21)
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,898
Likes: 14
From: Eugene, Oregon
It was probably heavly modded and the owner brought it back to stockish look and sold all the parts on evom
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:48 PM
  #12  
edardnaekim's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (21)
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 336
Likes: 0
From: Fall River, MA
Originally Posted by Sharkbite2000
It was probably heavly modded and the owner brought it back to stockish look and sold all the parts on evom
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:48 PM
  #13  
tlsole's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
From: Houston
Originally Posted by Sharkbite2000
It was probably heavly modded and the owner brought it back to stockish look and sold all the parts on evom
Possibly..If that is the case, what do you guys think i should do? Worth getting? Besides whatever is in the noob thread, what should i look out for when inspecting a evo?
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:50 PM
  #14  
JJsEvo8's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 703
Likes: 0
From: USA
^^ Haha, most likely I would get a 3rd party tech to give it a good look and perform the following:

Compression test
Check out the brake calipers. Still red? Chipped clearcoat?
Rev Limiter still set at 5k?
Exhaust manifold bolts have wear?
Boosting at stock PSI?

Last edited by JJsEvo8; Mar 24, 2009 at 01:52 PM.
Reply
Old Mar 24, 2009 | 01:52 PM
  #15  
Sxhawnn's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 447
Likes: 0
GReat thing about owning an evo is that you can't tell

****ty thing about buying an evo is that you can tell either haha.

My engine bay looks completely stock, but yet I would make 350+ on a dynojet.

Ported everything/stock looking turbo/drop in filter/injectors etc, even the exhaust looks stock.

Hell I've seen a 500+whp car look pretty much stock until you start moving things around.

Can't even tell if the previous owner used alky/meth/nitrous cause all you'd have to do is weld a bung closed or switch out a pipe or two. Best thing to do in my opinon is to buy a car on evom who has plenty of people to vouch for him and where you can search up his previous posts to make sure there aren't things like OOOO **** LIKE WHAT METH DID TO MY MANIFOLD

Edit: that UICP looks custom. Doesn't loook like anything a vendor sells

Last edited by Sxhawnn; Mar 24, 2009 at 01:55 PM.
Reply



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.