Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

modding an Evo VII GT-A

Search this Thread

Old Sep 29, 2009, 02:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
modding an Evo VII GT-A

Hey all...i am a total newbie here so would like your help as much as i can get.

I have taken up a project to mod my friend's Evo VII GT-A. so far the engine is stock with a HKS Pod filter and Blitz NUR Spec R exhaust. it also has HKS EVC6 and boosting at 15.5psi

i would like to share the details of my plan with u and ask for ur suggestions and opinions

I have split the project in 2 major parts. 1st part is the valvetrain with the following upgrades:

Cosworth CNC Ported Big Valve Cylinder Head
HKS Camshaft Duration 264 (Intake & Exhaust)
HKS Cam Pulley
Tomei Head Studs

then i want to upgrade the turbo with HKS GT3037S turbo kit with the manifold and all with wastegate and upgrade to HKS R-type intercooler, and also use Skunk2 PRO series intake manifold with 68mm throttle body. Upgrading the fuel system with HKS rail, FPR, fuel pump and 1000cc injectors and throwing in a HKS Twin Fire DLI. getting rom from ecutek/flash (not decided yet).

we dont want to bore the block so not upgrading to oversize pistons. will stick to cosworth forged 85mm pistons and use thicker gasket to lower compression

at the end, we are expecting approx 425-450hp at the wheel @27-30psi boost.

looking for any suggestions/tips/opinions from the experts here
Old Sep 29, 2009, 06:37 AM
Evolved Member

VII or VII GT-A wasn't available in the states, but it should be pretty much the same as VIII.

How accessible are US brands to you? Because most people here are more familiar with them than the Japanese ones.