Notices
Lancer Troubleshooting Get help with any troubleshooting problems you may have.

HELP! Wire sliced in firewall - car is limping???

Search this Thread

Old Aug 27, 2012, 09:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP! Wire sliced in firewall - car is limping???

Before I start, I am a NOOB; I made a huge mistake; and I may be screwed - I understand this....

So here it is - I was installing fog lights in my car, I went to cut a hole in my firewall to send the power for the switch into my car, and in my utmost stupidity, I used a knife and I heard the fuse box do a fast-paced clicking and I immediately stopped (and the immediately went into panic mode). Raging with anxiety, I jumped into the car and when I turned the key the car started, but puttered and turned off (super-panic mode). I took off the firewall grommet and saw the sliced wires – I sliced the thick red wire (prob 8 gauge) and another thin red wire with black and silver lines/dashes. I then sealed them with electrical tape. I then went to turn the car on again, this time while applying gas; the car stayed on but did not sound right at all (engine was louder and the exhaust was putting out excessive (colorless) fumes), I then put the car in reverse and the whole engine looked like as it was seizing, I then quickly turned off the car.