EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community

EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/)
-   Lancer Troubleshooting (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/lancer-troubleshooting-60/)
-   -   03 OZ slowly burning oil, what to do? (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/lancer-troubleshooting/603702-03-oz-slowly-burning-oil-what-do.html)

him Mar 21, 2012 07:08 AM

03 OZ slowly burning oil, what to do?

MY OZ is slowly burning oil. So slowly that it doesn't exhaust blue smoke and I forget it's burning oil until my engine starts making noises and I put oil in it (I know thats bad, please don't hate on me! I'm new to this!). I don't have the money right now to put it in the shop, I was hoping somebody would have some things for me to check. What are some common reasons I might be burning oil? Other than that, the engine runs great, quiet, low idle, blah blah.

What are some things you would check if your car was burning oil very slowly? I

I'm also pretty certain it's not a leak, there is no oil in my driveway.

EDIT: I should also mention that aside from a K&N intake, the engine is stock.

03lances Mar 21, 2012 08:35 AM

Unless your rings are bad and giving you blow by then the oil would be getting in through your valve seals which either way to know for sure would be to pull the head and look at the buildup on the pistons themselves. The actual changing of valve seals isnt hard its just getting to them lol.

him Mar 21, 2012 08:38 AM

Originally Posted by 03lances (Post 10049229)
Unless your rings are bad and giving you blow by then the oil would be getting in through your valve seals which either way to know for sure would be to pull the head and look at the buildup on the pistons themselves. The actual changing of valve seals isnt hard its just getting to them lol.

I assume you mean piston rings?