Notices

HELP! Whats the most an Evo X MR trans can handle?

Search this Thread

Old Sep 3, 2011, 03:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question HELP! Whats the most an Evo X MR trans can handle?

Im a total noob in any thread so please forgive me but Im freaking out. I bought a brand new MR Touring and after 1600 miles I just dropped it off at COBB tuning for a 400s kit along with a couple other goodies. I wanted as close to 500 awhp as possible but now Im learning that the stock SST transmission doesnt do well with high HP. Does anyone know or have an MR with over 400 awhp with the stock trans? Im freaking out cause with the money Im spending plus the total cost of the car I could have bought a slightly used 08 M3. Is it worth it??
Old Sep 3, 2011, 04:08 PM
Evolving Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
search function is your friend
Old Sep 3, 2011, 04:11 PM
Evolving Member

Lol. First off take deep breath...

Second, you have left your car with one of the best tuners in the States today. Nothing to worry about. I'd say they'll probably adjust your sst tables accordingly due to the amount of power you're looking for. You're probably going to need a 500 hp clutch pack upgrade from SSP ( South Side Performance).
Old Sep 3, 2011, 04:23 PM

Mike, thanks for the reassurance. I talked to them about a clutch upgrade but they were talking $4k! I looked up online and saw the SSP 500hp kit was only about $1300. I know COBB charges a lot but damn! I've already maxed my credit card to the limit. I guess I'll have to de-tune it under 400 whp til I can save? How hard can I drive it until it gives?
Old Sep 3, 2011, 04:25 PM

Originally Posted by notenoughhp
search function is your friend
tried that first, trust me. like i said, im a noob and Im freaking out a little.
Old Sep 3, 2011, 04:41 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by EvoXMRnoob