Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

AutoX suspension abuse

Search this Thread

Old Apr 16, 2018, 09:32 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
AutoX suspension abuse

Hello guys,

I've been doing autocross with my evo 8 for a couple years now, slowly upgrading along the way and I've come to a cross roads.

Setup a month ago:
245/40/17 Hankook RS-3's
8k/10k JIC's FLT-A2's
RSB, RCK, poly bushings
3*F 1.5*R Camber, 0 toe
Power/tq: 400/400

Car was still lacking grip all around for the power so I made the jump to 275 slicks (c71 hankooks), tightened up the sways, the shocks, put 10k springs in rear, and hoped that would be enough stiffness for the time being. it wasn't. blew the shocks on my first run out with the 275's . (though the grip improvement was amazing!)

So where do I go from here?
Don't have +2k to spend on DFW's, KW3's, 510's, etc.
If I run some 14k rainbow coilovers, I will probably be replacing them every few months.
I do have a set of MR Billsteins with Swift springs but they're about half as stiff as I need. (also have FSB awaiting the grueling install)

I definitely went too far too fast with the tire upgrade but now that I am here, waist deep in expensive hardly-resellable tires, I need to make a plan to get back on the path of righteousness.

Keeping in mind this decision is budget minded, do I:
1. sell the tires for a loss and step down to a 275 DOT
2. OEM Billsteins and Swift Springs are durable enough, send it!
3. stop racing, sell the evo, takeup knitting.
4. other
The following users liked this post:
MinusPrevious (Apr 16, 2018)
Old Apr 16, 2018, 09:46 AM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1,384 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Hey, Thanks for posting up I moved your thread here, where the guys will help out w/some opinion

The following users liked this post:
SilviaVsSupra (Apr 16, 2018)
Old Apr 16, 2018, 12:41 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 1,543 Likes on 1,322 Posts