EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community

EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/)
-   Motor Sports (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/motor-sports-15/)
-   -   Anyone else race karts? A beginner's story (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/motor-sports/638792-anyone-else-race-karts-beginners-story.html)

Blitz Dec 7, 2012 01:00 PM

Anyone else race karts? A beginner's story

I got into karting this year and figured I would share my experience for anyone who might be interested. I'm still very new to it but have been out enough times to get my feet wet and learn a few things. So here goes. I apologize in advance for the length but I know I would have appreciated reading something like this before I got into the sport.

A little background on my racing experience (or lack thereof). Evo is currently sitting at around 425 whp with a BBK Full, stock block, pretty much stock suspension and everything else. I've done a few autocrosses and been to the drag strip but that's about it. Will definitely attend some trackdays in the future. From reading this forum, though, it seems like a lot of guys who road race their Evos often wish they had just gotten a Spec Miata or something else that was ready to race to begin with. I've taken such posts into consideration when deciding how to get into racing.

When I ordered by BBK Full I spoke with Chad at CBRD on the phone about his racing career. For those who don't know, he used to race LMP1 cars in ALMS. No big deal right? :lol: Anyway he said one year he took his shifter kart to Sebring before an ALMS event. Did some laps. Then when he got into his big, monster Panoz LMP-1 Roadster-S racecar the next day, he said it felt rather unexciting and sterile compared to the kart. That conversation really piqued my interest.