Notices
Northeast Region Includes CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, VT.

Ticket for loud exhaust MA

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27, 2008, 06:41 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ticket for loud exhaust MA

Last weekend a buddy of mine was driving me back from a party (I don't drink and drive) and he got pulled over for speeding (70 on the highway) and I got a ticket for my exhaust for being too loud. Is this worth fighting? I tried looking up exactly where it is in MA law it states that loud exhausts are illegal. i know there is a bill pending in the house now but i doubt it will pass.

On a side note, the cop wrote "Street Racer" on both our tickets....we were the only car on the highway as it was 3am....notice it wasn't street racing...it was street racer...so because of my car he automatically knew thats what i was.

Thanks
Old Jan 28, 2008, 05:22 AM
Evolved Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Well I'm no lawyer or anything, but I've heard quite a few stories now about people in Ma getting loud exh. tickets and it being legit somehow. I think the law states you cannot modify your exh so that's where they get you when they see the nice and shinny muffler. Also I think this somehow counts as a moving violation on your insurance, so I think it causes your ins. Rating to go up a few points = higher premium. Don't know if this helps any, but just trying to share some knowledge I've gathered.
Old Jan 28, 2008, 05:27 AM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
in MA it is LIKE a fix-it ticket. Put the exhaust back to stock and when you fight the ticket tell them you fixed it.
Old Jan 28, 2008, 05:28 AM
Evolved Member

Yes, it's a legit law

Yes, you should fight it because...

Yes, it's a moving violation.