EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community

EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/)
-   Northeast Region (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/northeast-region-40/)
-   -   Who's Evo is this? (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/northeast-region/452782-whos-evo.html)

Racersky Oct 14, 2009 10:22 PM

Who's Evo is this?
 
Like what the title says a friend of mine is thinking about buying this Evo and I told him to wait till the car gets checked out. It's an Electric Blue Metallica 2005 Evo with sparco evo racing seats, autopower bolt-on cage, and other parts. The VIN number is ILIKESHEEP. I hope someone can help me to see if this car is worth buying or can this be a nightmare. In my opinion I don't like to buy a modded car period but I'm just trying to help a friend out.


https://images.autotrader.com/images..._A.562x421.jpg

http://images.autotrader.com/images/..._A.562x421.jpg

http://images.autotrader.com/images/..._A.317x421.jpg

http://images.autotrader.com/images/..._A.562x421.jpg

Bergen Automotive Oct 14, 2009 10:33 PM

If it's the one 4 sale in Orlando? It Been for sale for a long time, I saw it before I bought mine and it didn't seem like a safe bet

skyblas Oct 14, 2009 10:38 PM

whats the engine spec etc?
it will be easier for ppl to identify if u have an engine bay pic or something

Protostar1 Oct 14, 2009 10:44 PM

Have a local mechanic (even better a Mitsu mechanic or very knowledgeable owner) check the car over and drive it. An experienced evo owner will at least be able to give you a risk assessment and and idea of if the clutch is going, the suspension is shot, or something like the motor is on its way out. Just because it is modded certainly does mean it has been done so poorly. The car at least looks to be in good shape but pictures dont tell the whole story. Good luck!

Racersky Oct 14, 2009 10:53 PM

i'm afraid there's no picture of the engine bay

rongdoer Oct 14, 2009 10:54 PM

I would buy a metallica evo except few albums sucked

chu Oct 15, 2009 06:21 AM


Originally Posted by Protostar1 (Post 7613991)
Have a local mechanic (even better a Mitsu mechanic or very knowledgeable owner) check the car over and drive it. An experienced evo owner will at least be able to give you a risk assessment and and idea of if the clutch is going, the suspension is shot, or something like the motor is on its way out. Just because it is modded certainly does mean it has been done so poorly. The car at least looks to be in good shape but pictures dont tell the whole story. Good luck!

Contact the owner and learn what mods have been done to the car. Ask to test drive, and be sure for permission to beat it alittle only to see if the car pulls like it should. Ask if the owners mines having the OBD read for codes, and if you could pull the ECU map using EcuFlash. Thats the only way I'd buy an Evo these days. Too many damn scammers out there, including dealers! One last point is be polite and courteous, the owner is taking a risk having you test drive his/her car!

Racersky Oct 15, 2009 10:57 AM

It's not privately own but a dealership by the name of Luxury Auto Gallery somewhere in Little Neck, New York. The guy emailed me this: CAR HAS BOLT ON ROLL CAGE, SPARCO EVO SEATS, BUSCHUR MANIFOLD, ZEITRONIX WIDEBAND, THIS CAR IS TUNED AND PUT TOGETHER BY AN ADULT PROFESSIONAL TUNER. I do not understand the point of caps in an email -_-

colonelfox Oct 18, 2009 03:09 PM

I can spot several mods visually that he did not point out. That alone would make me nervous. If the seller isn't quick to divulge mods and sell the car for what it is then it's probably not worthwhile.
My friend just bought an Evo a few weeks ago and the further along we get into it, the more obvious it is that it was modded pretty heavily at one point. It was sold to him as "mostly stock" with just a catback and BOV. "Never modded beyond that" was what he was told. I've found evidence of a meth kit, cams, the ECU was locked and had a tune, a brand new clutch, the engine is in far too nice shape to be the original etc. If you want a modded car then take a chance, but the instant someone seems to lie about mods I would walk away.

1killertsi Oct 18, 2009 03:18 PM

have you gone to their website and see the pics they have? I have been looking at the EVOs that they have been getting and I dont know, Everyone is pretty heavily modded. I ended up finding a bone stock WW IX SSL in PA. They list the car to only have a few bolt ons then you check the website pics and it has a larger turbo,meth and so on. Good luck

maxims4g63 Oct 24, 2009 02:17 PM


Originally Posted by rongdoer (Post 7614014)
I would buy a metallica evo except few albums sucked

hahaha.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:31 AM.


© 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands