Notices
Mitsubishi Vehicles (Airtrek / Outlander) Use this forum to discuss any other types of Mitsu/DSM vehicles, past and present

My Wife's Airtrek Turbo upgrade path

Search this Thread

Old Mar 3, 2015, 12:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question My Wife's Airtrek Turbo upgrade path

Hello to all, I'm fairly new to the Mitsubishi world, and I would like to know what you guys would consider as proper mods for a Mitsubishi Airtrek Turbo R.

I've been into cars since long before I met my wife, and fortunately I've been blessed with the fact that she has developed a similar enjoyment on this hobby. I used to have a Celica All Trac when we met. I then moved to a Nissan S13 with CA18DET, which I still have, and last year I bought a Honda S2000 as my daily driver. My wife always wanted to own a fast SUV, and when we had the opportunity we jumped on a 2002 JDM Airtrek Turbo R; her other car is a 2013 ASX (Outlander Sport), so you can tell she is quite the Mitsubishi fan.

Last weekend we both participated in some local drag races, and she enjoyed it a lot! So we are planning to mildly upgrade the Airtrek to improve the overall performance.

Drag Wars feb 28 2015 by CamsX200, on Flickr

Drag Wars feb 28 2015 by CamsX200, on Flickr

Our local mechanic is an Evolution guru, and he has the only other Airtrek JDM in the country (we live in Panama), so he is very knowledgeable about it. The most immediate plan is to increase the boost to 16-17~psi and have him remap the ecu with ECUFlash.

We know the Airtrek is not the best platform to work with in terms of hp to weight ratio, and not wanting to go all out, a full engine swap is currently out of the question. Another issue is that my wife is not that comfortable driving a manual transmission.

The car has no other upgrades than a K&N filter and the stock solenoid bypassed, therefore it is currently boosting 10 psi.