Notices
Paint and Detailing Discuss topics related to car paint (interior or exterior) and detailing (techniques, products, etc.).

Review: Chipfixx.ca paint chip repair kit (Phantom Black)

Old Jul 19, 2015, 02:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Review: Chipfixx.ca paint chip repair kit (Phantom Black)

Update: Chipfixx got back to me and they are sending me some new paint, hopefully with more flake in it this time.

SUMMARY: Just use the OEM touchup paint carefully, it will look better.

I'm not a detailing expert, and have little to no experience touching up paint so please keep that in mind as you read this. Perhaps you can bestow some sage advice

Hi All,

I'm not sure how many of you are from Canada, but if you are you'll know that Dr. Colorchip was recalled and therefore sort of banned for sale in Canada due to a labeling requirement.

Since I daily drive my '14 Phantom black GSR, and live in a city that uses an overabundant amount of rocks and gravel in the winter time... my car had some rock chips in the places I don't have XPEL film (the doors, the roof, upper portion of the hood).

After searching for the next best thing, I stumbled upon Chipfixx.ca. They sell a kit which works similarly to the DCC kit.

I suspect that these kits are nothing more than rations taken from a professional Applied Colors kit. I'll explain why later on.

The Process: 8/10
  • Apply the paint
  • Let it dry
  • Level it/wipe off excess with the levelling solution

The process is simple and appears to work really well for small superficial chips. I had limited success with deeper chips. What I did notice is that there is a sort of hologram left over if you had any excess paint on the chip. By this I mean if you accidentally (oops) put a large blob of paint on the chip and let it dry - a faint outline of that blob remains on the car after wiping. I think maybe I left the paint on for too long.