Notices
Project Cars / Build Threads Please post your build threads here.

Shake's Blue VIII

Search this Thread

Old Apr 17, 2018, 09:58 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Shake's Blue VIII

Sup guys,

Had the Evo for about 6 months really loving it. This post is going to be my build/worklog. ATM, this will be more of a worklog. But, I'd love to make this a time attack car at some point. Some future things I have in mind: Aggressive aero mods, practical weight reduction, and mods to improve the efficiency of various systems(Engineer by trade). But for now I'm just going to maintain it and slowly clean it up. There is a bit of rust here and there but nothing I haven't fixed before.

Mods installed by previous owner:
-Injen Intake
-Cat back (Call me an old man but it is a tad loud)
-TephraMod (I'm a novice. After some research I've learned that the current fuel and spark maps are not very good...Rich and retarded with occasional bad knock)
-ProSport wideband, EGT, and boost gauges
-Torque Solution Motormounts
-Grimmspeed BC
-HKS Turbo Timer
-Front lip

Things that are missing...that I want to replace:

-Oil cooler (Setrab anyone?!?)
-Vortex generator
-IC Sprayer (have a plan)
-The air filter scoop/box
-Exhaust mani shield (already replaced it)

Some things I've done so far:

-Replaced leaking OEM Rad with a Full size KOYO RAD.
-Replaced the very crude COP setup with a more refined version. The harness was toast(water) and the plate had misaligned holes. A CNC'd plate by SSSPerformance and I made a water tight, silicon sealed, harness.
-Picked up an Openport 2.0 for logging.

My in progress effort is learning about tuning EVO's and updating the Tephra Tune. I get bad knock (read 36 counts repeating), on spool, in and around the 100-120 load range. I've scaled the map's load axis from 350 to 300 then added the extra resolution to low-mid loads; but have not burned to new maps yet. I'll post maps at some point.

Future Maintenance:
-Water pump
-Timing belt
-Tierods