Notices
Project Cars / Build Threads Please post your build threads here.

My car has been sitting in the garage since 2009

Search this Thread

Old Sep 28, 2018, 03:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My car has been sitting in the garage since 2009

My 2003 Evo 8 has been sitting in my garage since 2009 when I left the country. It has never been touched, but I refuse to sell it because it's the most fun in a car I've ever had. I will eventually move back but am really worried. Is it possible to get my car running again well? Or did I screw myself?
Old Sep 28, 2018, 04:07 AM
Evolved Member

Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
So for 9 years nobody has touched it, hasn't even been started ? If so i am no expert but you definitely will have a dead battery, flat tires and some other stuff the more expert people can comment on.
Old Sep 28, 2018, 06:21 AM
Evolving Member

Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts
Gas tank and fuel lines will be gunked up, rings rusted to cylinders potentially more internal rust. Belts and tires dry rotted as well as other engine seals, potentially.
Old Sep 28, 2018, 07:33 AM
Evolving Member

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by XSivPSI
Gas tank and fuel lines will be gunked up, rings rusted to cylinders potentially more internal rust. Belts and tires dry rotted as well as other engine seals, potentially.
damn man, that’s absolutely a worst case scenario!

OP, what climate do you live in, hopefully dry and arrid and not humid and moist?

if it was in your garage the entire time, I wouldn’t sweat it.
this is what I’d do.
• pull spark plugs and put a ratchet and socket on the main centered crankshaft bolt and give it a couple of complete turns. if she spins, then I’d proceed.
• disconnect all fuel lines from rail and fuel pump and blow them out with compressed air.
• pull the fuel rail and clean it out.
• drain the fuel tank...