Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Modifed stock intake manifold

Search this Thread

Old Jul 5, 2009, 04:44 PM
Evolved Member

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Modifed stock intake manifold

First off, I talked to IndyEVO before posting this to make sure I wasn't stepping on any toes.

Second, this will be a long post. If you don't like technical info, it won't be worth reading. I just want to make a thread about manifold design and how I have modified the stock EVO intake manifold. If you see something I post you disagree with, feel free to correct me. I'm no expert, I've just read some books and have done a small amount of dyno testing on this subject, nothing real scientific though.

IndyEVO and Wilson manifolds had a great idea of modify the stock intake manifold. I've played around with doing something similar on my old 2G setup, but never thought it would work that well so I never gave it a shot. Kudos to them for giving it a shot as it gave me will power to try it out myself. While the pictures of Wilson's work look amazing, I can't find it in my budget to purchase one of their manifolds. I wish I could though. I've always been a believer in doing things on my own anyway though. Seeing the results IndyEVO got out of modify the stock manifold, I figured it was time to take out the TIG and call up a friend with a mill and get to work.

I'm not trying to copy Indy's work. I've never seen one of his manifolds first hand. I had the manifold off my car, started looking at it and saw some ways to possibly get more power out of it. I looked at the pictures of his manifold again and noticed that what I had in mind was similar to what I saw in the pictures of his manifold. Also looking at the pictures with manifold in hand, some of the features on his manifold started to make more sense to me and lead me to change a few things from what I saw in his work.

On to the pictures.